Re: Not in Kansas anymore
When I share my opinion here on why I feel like this should get the axe by the rejectionator, I want all of you to know that even if I get frustrated at your opinions, I remember that there is a living, thinking person on the other end of the converstaion. I don't mean to sound condescending or rude with my opinion here, and humbly apologize if typed words come across with an inflection that I do not intend. To that end, here goes my thoughts on why this design should be rejected:
Here is the break down in "Phantom Tollbooth" type logic:
If you are not somewhere, then surely you must be someplace else. If you are someplace else, what would you call that someplace else?
To that end;
Where does this shirt design imply that the someplace else
Suppose I've never seen this shirt design and I walk up to you and see the shirt. Where do you suppose I will think that the "Dorothy Gale look-a-like and her little dog too" are standing? Not what is that a map of, that's the wrong question. The right question is where are they standing.
Yes, it's easy to fall into the trap of rude snarkiness and say "not Kansas;" however I am asking a genuine question here.
Now, it's true the map is of the good ol' U.S.A. and the rules say "No maps of fictional worlds you didn't create." America is real, and thank God for that because it's where I keep all my stuff.
However, the rules also say in the example "Yes, make up your own continent." Again, where am I suppossed to think that the little girl-- who happens to look like Dorothy--is standing? For the gag to work, I have to infer that she is in OZ. Not something that Ramyb created.
I think what frustrates me about this design not having been rejected is the fact that it seems like it has gotten by because of this part of the rules:
"No, don't give us a map of Narnia or Oz or whatever." Technically, the map displayed is of U.S.A. So no, technically Ramyb didn't make up the map of America. But Dorothy has to be standing in OZ to make the gag work.
In the end, the last rule for this particular derby is a little too muddled. Is it that no implication of previously established fictional worlds are allowed, or is it okay as long as you don't actually have a map of the place?
Which aspect of the final derby rule takes precedent? No fictional worlds, or No Maps of fictional worlds?